Skip to main content
  • Blog\FTS31066_Cover_3000.jpg


    Ramblin’ on with Lucinda Williams Vinyl Reissues

    The legendary Lucinda Williams released her debut record Ramblin’ on My Mind in 1979 and now four decades into her sweeping songbook, we welcome this enduring collection of blues renditions into our Smithsonian Folkways Vinyl Reissue Series, out May 7th, 2021 and available for pre-order now. This announcement coincides with the vinyl repressing and restock, available this summer, of her Happy Woman Blues, her 1980 follow-up of original material. Both are remastered from the master tapes and feature the classic Folkways style tip-on jackets with stylized liner notes and album art.

    Prior to cutting her first record with Folkways, Williams was a regular on the vibrant folk scene of Houston, Texas, and had performed in southern cities for years. These two albums spurred a heightened admiration for the Williams that the world has grown to cherish. From the beginning, she’s played and penned her songs with skillful ease, traveling wisdom, and the kind of freewheeling heartache that makes it liberating to feel the depths of yours, too. She’s gone on to have one of the most impactful careers in folk and country music, selling millions of albums, winning three Grammy Awards from 17 nominations — and is hailed by critics as one of the greatest songwriters of all time, including Time magazine’s recognition as “America’s best songwriter” in 2002.

    So, dance all night long to sweet Lucinda songs, and pre-order your vinyl out May 7th. Happy Woman Blues is available for pre-order for its restock this summer.

    Lucinda Williams – Ramblin’ on My Mind

    American singer-songwriter Lucinda Williams’ Southern blues roots are unmistakable on her debut record Ramblin’ on My Mind, showcasing the artistry that would make her an icon. Recorded in Mississippi in the late 1970s, the album features a collection of traditional folk and country standards arranged and performed by Williams, with intimate accompaniment by John Grimaudo on his six-string guitar. Her raw and drawly voice is as curvy and natural as a back road as she wistfully explores the familiar melodies of Robert Johnson, Hank Williams, and the Memphis Jug Band, among others.

    Lucinda Williams – Happy Woman Blues

    Lucinda Williams, whose musical style defies easy categorization, recorded her first album of original songs in 1980, supported by a six-member band. Her songs are a mix of traditional and alternative country, folk, and blues that reflect her Louisiana roots. The Village Voice music critic Robert Christgau gave Happy Woman Blues an "A–" and described Williams as a "guileless throwback to the days of the acoustic blues mamas" who "means what she says and says what she means."

    Check out the other titles in our Smithsonian Folkways Vinyl Reissue Series:

    • Craig Kupka – Crystals: New Music for Relaxation 2
    • Ann McMillan – Gateway Summer Sound: Abstracted Animal and Other Sounds
    • The Entourage Music & Theatre Ensemble – The Neptune Collection
    • Lord Invader – Calypso Travels
    • Tuareg Music of the Southern Sahara
    • Alhaji Bai Konte, Dembo Konte, Ma Lamini Jabote – Gambian Griot Kora Duets
    • Folksongs and Instrumentals with Guitar – Elizabeth Cotten
    • Mary Lou Williams – Mary Lou Williams
    • Struggle – Woody Guthrie
    • Lightnin' Hopkins - Lightnin' Hopkins
    • Bahaman Folk Guitar – Joseph Spence
    • Goofing-Off Suite – Pete Seeger
    • American Banjo: Songs and Tunes in Scruggs Style
    • Dock Boggs: Legendary Singer & Banjo Player – Dock Boggs
    • Easy Rider – Lead Belly
    • Ballads, Blues, and a Spiritual – Dave Van Ronk
    • Brownie McGhee and Sonny Terry Sing – Brownie McGhee and Sonny Terry

    Ramblin’ on with Lucinda Williams Vinyl Reissues | Smithsonian Folkways Recordings