Skip to main content
  • Now Available: The Sounding Joy by Elizabeth Mitchell and Friends

    GRAMMY-nominated recording artist Elizabeth Mitchell presents The Sounding Joy, an exploration of Christmas and solstice songs from the American folk tradition. Drawn almost exclusively from the often overlooked but deeply influential songbook of revered composer and anthologist Ruth Crawford Seeger, these songs evoke an era before mass media and the commercialization of Christmas, when sacred song, dance, contemplation, and gathering were prized above all else during the holiday season.


    Mitchell’s fifth album for Smithsonian Folkways, The Sounding Joy features husband Daniel Littleton, daughter Storey, and special guests Peggy Seeger, Natalie Merchant, Amy Helm, Aoife O’Donovan, Gail Ann Dorsey, Larry Campbell, Dan Zanes, and John Sebastian, among many other family, friends, and neighbors. This gorgeously reverent 24-song collection attempts to save these traditional American holiday songs from an “unmarked grave,” as Merchant puts it in her essay included in the liner notes. The Sounding Joy is truly for listeners of all ages and is Smithsonian Folkways’ first holiday album in more than a decade.


    While recovering from surgery four years ago, Mitchell spent a Thanksgiving weekend thinking about the project that would eventually become The Sounding Joy. A longtime fan and champion of Ruth Crawford Seeger’s work, Mitchell soon found herself thoroughly immersed in Seeger’s third and final songbook, American Folk Songs for Christmas. Seeger, mother of musicians Mike and Peggy Seeger and stepmother of Pete Seeger, died from cancer at age 52 in 1953, the very same year American Folk Songs for Christmas was published.

    Mitchell chose to strike a balance between remaining faithful to the beauty and subtle complexity of Seeger’s unique arrangements, and bringing her own breadth and range as a producer and arranger to bear on these largely unknown traditional songs. The wide diversity of voices, players, and instruments on the album breathes new life into words first sung over a century ago by farmhands, country preachers, and small-town congregations and gospel groups.

    Adapting a number of Seeger’s piano arrangements for a string trio and inventive percussion, Mitchell radiates warmth on “Ain’t That Rocking” and “Shine Like a Star.” Amy Helm leads a rousing version of “Last Month of the Year” through a groove and vocal quartet style that invokes the early Staple Singers with guitar figures reminiscent of Malian desert blues. Merchant lends her vocals on the haunting “Joseph and Mary (The Cherry Tree Carol),” and also contributes an essay to the liner notes, while writer/artist Brian Selznick (author of The Invention of Hugo Cabret) provided illustrations for the album package. Recordings not from the songbook include classics “Joy to the World,” “Silent Night,” and an a cappella arrangement of “Lo, How a Rose E'er Blooming,” a “family heirloom” arranged by Elizabeth’s father-in-law, Michael Storey Littleton.

    Although the songs presented are specific to the Christian tradition, Mitchell’s husband Daniel Littleton cites the inclusive nature of the project, describing the assembly of musicians as an “ecumenical summit” of sorts, with participants of many religious and non-religious backgrounds coming together happily to bring the songs to life. Mitchell sums up the spirit of the album best in her notes: “However you and your loved ones celebrate the last month of the year, I hope it is filled with the sounds of joy.”

    Her previous Smithsonian Folkways releases are Blue Clouds (2012), the GRAMMY-nominated Little Seed: Songs for Children by Woody Guthrie (2012), Sunny Day (2010), and You Are My Little Bird (2006). Elizabeth and Dan Zanes also recently released a duet album Turn, Turn, Turn.

    The Sounding Joy Tracklist:

    1. Oh, Mary and the Baby, Sweet Lamb
    2. Mary Had a Baby
    3. Rise Up, Shepherd, and Follow (feat. Mike Merenda)
    4. January, February (Last Month of the Year) (feat. Amy Helm and Marco Benevento)
    5. Joseph and Mary (The Cherry Tree Carol) (feat. Natalie Merchant)
    6. Shine Like a Star in the Morning (feat. Simi Stone)
    7. Joy to the World (feat. Jay Ungar)
    8. Christmas Day in the Morning (feat. Peggy Seeger)
    9. Mother’s Child (Child of God) (feat. Peggy Seeger)
    10. Sing-a-Lamb (feat. Dan Zanes and Suzan Lori-Parks)
    11. Great Big Stars
    12. Baby Born Today (feat. The Silver Hollers - Amy Helm, Ruthy Ungar and Chris Wood, with Larry Campbell)
    13. Ain’t That a-Rockin’ All Night
    14. Cradle Hymn
    15. Bright Morning Stars Are Rising
    16. Sing Hallelu (feat. Elizabeth Clark-Jerez)
    17. The First Noel
    18. The Blessings of Mary (feat. Larry Campbell)
    19. Oh, Watch the Stars (feat. Aoife O’Donovan)
    20. Lo, How a Rose E’er Blooming
    21. Mary Was the Queen of Galilee (feat. Gail Ann Dorsey and Joan Osborne)
    22. Silent Night
    23. Singing in the Land (feat. Natalie Merchant, Happy Traum, and John Sebastian)
    24. Children, Go Where I Send Thee (feat. Natalie Merchant, Amy Helm, Ruthy Ungar, Gail Ann Dorsey, Dan Zanes, Aoife O'Donovan, Simi Stone)

    2013 Tour Dates

    Saturday, October 19, 2013 – 11 AM
    Fall Family Fun Festival Ashokan Center
    Olivebridge, NY
    More info:

    Sunday, October 20, 2013 – 3:00 PM
    Modlin Center for the Arts
    Richmond, VA
    Ticket info:
    Note: Duo show with Dan Zanes.

    Sunday, November 10, 2013 – 1:30 PM and 4:00 PM
    Mayo Performing Arts Center
    Morristown, NJ
    Ticket info:
    Note: Duo show with Dan Zanes.

    Saturday, December 14, 2013 – 11:00 AM
    Symphony Space
    New York, NY
    Ticket info:

    Now Available: The Sounding Joy by Elizabeth Mitchell and Friends | Smithsonian Folkways Recordings