Skip to main content

The New Faith

The New Faith
View Cart
Pre-Order CD $14.98
Pre-Order CD $14.98
Note: This item ships on or around September 23, 2022
View Cart
Pre-Order Vinyl LP $20.98
Pre-Order Vinyl LP $20.98
Note: This item ships early 2023
These are pre-order items with the CD version shipping on or around September 23, 2022 and, due to manufacturing delays, the LP version shipping later in early 2023.

The New Faith tells an Afrofuturist story set in a far-future world devastated by climate change. Jake Blount and his collaborators embody a group of Black climate refugees as they perform a religious service, invoking spirituals that are age-old even now, familiar in their content but extraordinary in their presentation. These songs, which have seen Black Americans through countless struggles, bind this future community together and their shared past; beauty and power held in song through centuries of devastation, heartbreak, and loss.

T-Shirt Bundle Available
While supplies last, add a Jake Blount New Faith T-Shirt to your purchase. This limited edition shirt features an engraving of Jake Blount's signature, custom-made fiddle.

Didn’t It Rain

Track Listing

Take Me to the Water / Prayer Jake Blount 3:35  
The Downward Road Jake Blount 3:36  
Didn’t It Rain Jake Blount 3:06  
Tangle Eye Blues Jake Blount 3:52  
Parable Jake Blount 2:20  
Death Have Mercy Jake Blount 3:00  
City Called Heaven Jake Blount 4:52  
They Are Waiting for Me Jake Blount 4:28  
Psalms Jake Blount 2:54  
Just as Well Get Ready, You Got to Die Jake Blount 3:09  
Give Up the World Jake Blount 4:09  
Once There Was No Sun Jake Blount 4:21