Skip to main content

Broadside Ballads, Vol. 1

Various Artists
Broadside Ballads, Vol. 1

First released in 1963, and later reissued by Smithsonian Folkways to commemorate the folk publication Broadside Magazine, Broadside Ballads, Vol. 1 features artists such as Blind Boy Grunt (Bob Dylan), Peter La Farge, Phil Ochs, and Pete Seeger. With topical songs that vary in subject from civil rights to Vietnam and the nuclear arms race, Broadside Ballads, Vol. 1 is at once a staunch and elucidating account of a generation at odds with the world around it. Recorded in Broadside’s cramped New York apartment, the album is spontaneous and intimate in approach and features vocals, guitar, banjo, and drums.

Contains the tracks "The Ballad of Old Monroe," "Faubus Foibles," "I Will Not Go Down Under the Ground (Let Me Die in My Footsteps)," "Only a Hobo," "Talking Devil," "Ain’t Gonna Let Segregation Turn Us Around," and "I Can See a New Day," which are not on The Best of Broadside 1962-1988.

Liner notes include lyrics, photos, newspaper articles, sheet music, and writing by Gordon Friesen.

Track Listing

Blowing in the Wind The New World Singers 2:33
The Ballad of Old Monroe Pete Seeger 5:15
John Brown Blind Boy Grunt (Bob Dylan) 4:24
As Long as the Grass Shall Grow Peter La Farge 5:10
The Ballad of William Worthy Phil Ochs 2:11
Benny Kid Paret Gil Turner 3:45
Faubus Foibles Peter La Farge 1:49
I Will Not Go Down Under the Ground (Let Me Die in My Footsteps) Happy Traum with Bob Dylan 3:42
Only a Hobo Blind Boy Grunt (Bob Dylan) 2:01
Talking Devil Blind Boy Grunt (Bob Dylan) 0:53
Ain't Gonna Let Segregation Turn Us Around The Freedom Singers 2:36
Go Limp Matt McGinn 2:32
Bizzness Ain't Dead The New World Singers 2:32
The Civil Defense Sign Mark Spoelstra 3:53
I Can See a New Day The New World Singers 4:00