Skip to main content

Phono-Cylinders, Vol. 1: Edited by and from the Collection of George A. Blacker

Various Artists
Phono-Cylinders, Vol. 1: Edited by and from the Collection of George A. Blacker

This album contains 14 tracks of music and spoken word recorded on cylinders in the first decade of the 20th century. With clear and distinct overall sound quality, the release―part one of a two-volume set―includes excerpts of campaign speeches from the 1908 presidential election by William Jennings Bryan and William Howard Taft, recordings of military and symphonic bands, and a ragtime composition featuring a drum solo. George A. Blacker was a private collector of early British and American recordings. The liner notes provide background information about each recorded track as well as an informal history of sound recording.

Track Listing

A Country Girl: Second Selection London Regimental Band 2:12
Daybreak at Calamity Farm Gilbert Girard and Len Spencer 4:13
Tramp, Tramp, Tramp Byron C. Harlan and Frank C. Stanley 4:27
Dream of the Rarebit Fiend Edison Military Band 2:11
Immortality: Excerpt from Lecture "The Prince of Peace" Williams Jennings Bryan 2:16
The Village Seamstress Elene Foster 2:17
Kerry Mill's Barn Dance A band 2:21
The Ragtime Drummer James Lent 2:27
I'm Afraid to Come Home in the Dark Arthur Collins 2:20
Unlawful Trusts William Howard Taft 2:00
When I Was 21 and You Were Sweet 16 - When I Was Twenty-one and You Were Sweet Sixteen Walter Van Brunt 3:59
Hermit's Bell Overture Written by Maillart American Symphony Orchestra (New York, N.Y.) 4:48
Waiting at the Church Ada Jones 2:15
Rip Van Winkle Meets Meenie Joseph Jefferson 2:01